VIRTUAL SPEAKER SERIES

SPRING 2022

sappho.jpeg

19 January

1:00 PM (Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time)

6:00 PM (EST), 3:00 PM (PST), 7:00 PM (AST), 8:00 AM (JST)

Book Launch!

Marina Karides, 
University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Sappho's Legacy: Convivial Economics on a Greek Isle 2021/2022, SUNY Press

With discussants:

Laurie Brinklow, University of Prince Edward Island, Canada

Ayano Ginoza, University of the Ryukyus, Okinawa

18 February

1:00 PM (Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time)

6:00 PM (EST), 3:00 PM (PST), 7:00 PM (AST), 8:00 AM (JST)

Island Food Systems

Adrianna Garriga-Lopez, Kalamazoo College

"Puerto Rican Feminist Farming and Cuir Anti-Colonial Rematriation: Experiments in Self-Determination"

Laura Williams, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa 

"A feminist political ecology of agri-environmental activism in shifting island rurality"

8 April 

1:00 PM (Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time)

7:00 PM (EDT), 4:00 PM (PDT), 8:00 PM (ADT), 8:00 AM (JST)

Island Diaspora

Māhealani Ahia and Kahala Johnson, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

"Submergent Ea: Diasporising Hawaiian Indigeneity"

Aurelien Davennes, University of Southern California

"The Opacity of Desire: Queerness, Postcolonialism, And Diasporic Belonging in Guadeloupe"